The Three SIsters

IMG_2124A gorgeous day and one of my favorite vistas here, the Three Sisters. This is a photo I took on this beautiful, sunny day, of the Three Sisters – a range of cliffs said to be the first part of Europe that Charles Lindbergh saw as he flew the first trans-Atlantic flight in the Spirit of Saint Louise, in 1927. The Three Sisters are situated in Ballyferriter, one of the many coastal communities on the Dingle Peninsula and to the left of my photos, you can also see Sybil Head. Ferriter’s Castle is located here – previously owned by the 17th-century island chief, lyric poet and rebel Captain Piaras Feirtear. He was the Co. Kerry commander that submitted to the Cromwellians and he was hanged in Killarney in 1653. I just did a faculty concert last semester that featured my original songs about the Blaskets and Martin Kearney – I titled one of the songs “Ferriter’s Islands” (the original name for the Blaskets).

Leave a comment