DublinDublin is the capital and most populous city of Ireland. The English name for the city is derived from the Irish name Dubhlinn, meaning “black pool”. Dublin is situated in the province of Leinster near the midpoint of Ireland’s east coast, at the mouth of the River Liffey and the centre of the Dublin Region.

Founded as a Viking settlement, it evolved into the Kingdom of Dublin and became the island’s principal city following the Norman invasion. The city expanded rapidly from the 17th century; it was briefly the second largest city in the British Empire and the fifth largest in Europe. Dublin entered a period of stagnation following the Act of Union of 1800, but it remained the economic centre for most of the island. Following the partition of Ireland in 1922, the new parliament, the Oireachtas, was located inLeinster House. Dublin became the capital of the Irish Free State and later the Republic of Ireland.

Photo credit — Ireland of the Welcomes | Facebook

For further study
Chester Beatty Library
Dublin Airport
Dublin Castle
Dublin City Portal
Dublin Transport
Dublin Wiki
Grafton Street
Kilmainham Gaol
National Gallery of Art
National Museum of Ireland
Temple Bar Cultural District
Things To Do in Dublin
Trinity College and the Book of Kells
Visit Dublin
Visit Kilmainham Gaol


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s